Friday, July 19, 2024

“Wike Approves Relocation of Apo Mechanic Village Traders to Wassa”

Must Read

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Nyesom Wike has authorized the relocation of traders from Apo Mechanic Village to Wassa in Abuja. This decision, announced by Felix Obuah, Coordinator of the Abuja Municipal Management Council (AMCC), represents a significant development. Obuah disclosed to reporters in Abuja on Tuesday that the AMCC has completed preparations to begin moving mechanics and traders from road corridors and buffer zones to Wassa starting next month.

The challenges at Apo Mechanic Village, which have persisted for years, include overcrowding affecting more than 1,000 traders and environmental concerns leading to eviction notices. This move is seen as necessary to address these issues. Obuah stressed that relocating to Wassa provides a permanent solution to the conflicts that have plagued the village for over fifteen years. He assured that the new site in the Wassa community offers stability and sustainability.

Regarding the decision, Obuah stated, “The issue of Apo Mechanic and traders has been ongoing for over 15 years. In my short three months in office, we’ve resolved the issue. Today, they are satisfied, and so are we.”

Explaining the relocation process, Obuah said, “We are ready to relocate all traders occupying road corridors, buffer zones, and rights of way to Wassa very soon. The minister has given approval, and we are preparing to establish a task force for the relocation.”

The process of enumerating the traders will be thorough, requiring each trader to provide their National Identification Number (NIN) to prevent duplication in registrations. Obuah clarified that allocations will be made to individuals rather than unions, emphasizing the importance of union cooperation to facilitate the relocation process efficiently.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest News

Ursula von der Leyen Secures Second Term as European Commission President

Ursula von der Leyen has been re-elected as the President of the European Commission, securing a second five-year term. The...
- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -spot_img