Friday, July 19, 2024

Senate Confirms Arase as PSC Chairman

Must Read

The Nigerian Senate has confirmed Buhari’s Nominee, a former Inspector General of Police, Solomon Arase (rtd) as Chairman of the Police Service Commission.

President Muhammadu Buhari had in a letter to the Senate on Tuesday which was read on the floor of the Red Chamber by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan asked the Senate to consider and screen the nominee for the post of Chairman Police service Commission.

Presenting the committee’s report to the Senate in plenary, Senator Jika Halliru said Arase performed creditably during the screening exercise and proved that he can lead the Police Service Commission (PSC ) as its Chairman.

Senate Confirms Arase as PSC Chairman

Halliru cited sections 2, A and B of the Police Service Commission Establishment Act 2001 which recommends that  the President can nominate Nigerians of proven integrity as members of the PSC.


He added that Arase meets the legal requirements to be appointed as Chairman of the PSC.


He also said that given the qualifications and relevant experience gained by Arase, the committee recommends that the Senate should confirm his appointment as Chairman of PSC.


The Senate after adopting the report unanimously confirmed Buhari’s Nominee, Solomon Arase as a substantive Chairman of the Police Service Commission.

The Senate after considering several reports of its committee on TETFUND seeking for the establishment of tertiary institutions as well as the report of the committee on health on the legal framework to establish the Federal Medical Centre Okigwe in Imo state, the Red Chamber adjourned plenary till 28th of February, 2023 after the presidential election.


Meanwhile, other senators praised Arase for his robust academic and career achievement and described his nomination as well deserved.


They said his appointment would benefit the PSC due to his previous service in the Nigerian police force.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest News

Ursula von der Leyen Secures Second Term as European Commission President

Ursula von der Leyen has been re-elected as the President of the European Commission, securing a second five-year term. The...
- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -spot_img